Author: James

AGM Announcement

The Sale FC Executive are pleased to announce our Annual General Meeting.

The meeting is open to fully paid members of Sale FC Rugby club only.

Sale FC Rugby AGM

  • Date: Thursday 16thMay
  • Time: 6:30pm Bar Open – 7:30pm Start
  • Location: Heywood Road in The Smithy Bar
  • All questions to be raised at AGM to be emailed to Mr Mark Roberts by Wednesday 15th
  • Announcement of Executive Appointees are on the noticeboard at the club

Agenda and papers will be posted on webpage, by Friday 10th May.

Ex-England and Sale FC Player Steve Burnhill

Matt Hampson Foundation

Ex-England and Sale FC player Steve Burnhill is doing a Rugby Club Sponsored Walk, starting at Sale FC on 18th April 2024

Matt Hampson Just Giving Page


To celebrate my 60th birthday I am walking between the rugby clubs I have been lucky to represent. Its a few!!!

Starting at Sale on April 18th, the plan is to walk to West Yorkshire and visit Cleckheaton, Roundhay (now Leeds) and Woodhouse Grove School, then down to Rotherham onto Loughborough Students and finish at Leicester Tigers on April 26th.

The total distance will be approximately 180 miles.

Through my time at these clubs, I have been fortunate enough to meet so many characters and friends that have shaped my life.

However not all of us have been that fortunate! To sustain a life changing injury as a youngster setting off in the sport you love must be a very difficult thing to deal with.

The Matt Hampson Foundation inspires and supports young people seriously injured through sport through its unique Get Busy Living centre in rural Leicestershire. The centre provides expert physiotherapy, specialist personal training, support, mentoring and advice to people suffering a life-changing injury.

The centre’s doors were opened in 2018 by Founder and ex-England and Leicester Tigers rugby player Matt Hampson, who himself experienced a life-changing injury in 2005.

Any donations are massively appreciated. Thank you in advance, Steve.

Sale FC 3rds vs Stockport IVs


With Easter approaching and a quiet week for rugby coming up, this Friday (29th March) we have our Sale FC Norseman taking the field at Carrington against Stockport 4th team.  Come down and support the boys as they run out at Carrington in this Easter Weekend Friendly.

  • KO is 6:30pm at Sale FC Training Centre, Carrington Lane, M31 4AE
  • Bar will be Open

Team Sheet

1. Azanne Ali
2. ⁠Dave Barker
3. ⁠Kristoffer Harries
4. ⁠Ben Higgins
5. ⁠Tom Banks
6. ⁠Charlie Caine
7. ⁠Brad Hunter
8. ⁠Jason Kay
9. ⁠Andrew Port (C)
10. Dave Bolton
11. ⁠Duval Jones
12. ⁠Jack Jones
13. ⁠Clement Bidwell
14. ⁠Ben Green
15. ⁠Andrew Muldoon
16. ⁠Scott Bambrick
17. ⁠ Ben Horsfield
18. ⁠Matthew Lowe
19. ⁠Richard Tomlinson
20. Ryan Fisher
21. ⁠Keshal Devchand (Huggy)
22. Matt Johnson
23. ⁠Matt Appleton
24. ⁠James Snowden
25. Quinn Hourihan
26. ⁠Will Bushnell


Sale FC vs Sedgley Tigers

Sale FC vs Sedgley Tigers

This week’s Newsletter

The Visitors

The Tigers are coming!  They haven’t played a league game at the CorpAcq Stadium in over SEVEN years! Get down on Saturday and roar on the Dogs to victory! Don’t miss out on this one as we aim to get revenge for our loss away to them earlier in the season.

The Game

After toppling league leaders Rams last weekend and 3rd placed Birmingham the week before, we are looking for a little revenge on our neighbours 8th place Sedgley Park Tigers. We lost away to Tigers before Christmas although the last time they were at Heywood Road (23rd December 2017) we defeated them in front of a bumper Christmas crowd. That was also the day we opened the Suite @Sale FC.


This weekend we have hospitality available for our members and for non-members.  If you’ve not sampled pre-match hospitality this season, it is £25 (£12.50 for under 16’s) for a two course meal from our Executive Chef Eugene in the Suite @Sale FC with exclusive use of the balcony to watch the game next to the bar.

Steve Hanley

We will also have ex-Sale Sharks and England Legend Steve Hanley as MC for the day in hospitality. He will interview coaches and players in the Suite @Sale FC prior to the game for you to gain an insight into what happens on game day and the mood in the changing room.
Click on the blue buttons to order a place! 

Menu (France vs England)

Pot-au-Feu of Slow Roast Belly Pork
Spring Vegetable Fricassee and Pomme Puree.
Followed by
Somerset Apple Crumble and Brandy Custard.

The Six Nations

All Games will be shown on the big screen in the clubhouse

The Club

Bars will be open from 12:30pm
Pre-Match Hospitality served at 1:15

A Week of Recognition

England Come Calling

This week we have had the exciting news that one of our current Sale FC 1861 players Sophie Hopkins has been selected into the England U20’s training Squad hot on the heels of the announcement that Ben Bamber and one of our props from last season James Harper have both been selected for the England A Squad. The club are delighted for all three players and wish them the best of luck for their upcoming games.