John Blanchard Junior and Kieran Dunne get selected for the England North U20’s squad after a physical final trial at Lymm.

Kieran Dunne in action against Darlington Mowden Park at the CorpAcq Stadium (c) Mark Ferriss Photography

Today at Lymm RFC, the North of England selectors gathered to put 40 of the very best players from the six Northern counties through their paces in preparation for the U20’s Divisional Festival that is being held on the 11th and 12th May at Derby RFC, where the final squad will play against the three other English Divisional sides.

After the day’s proceedings had been completed, Sale FC Rugby are proud to announce that both John Blanchard Junior (Lancashire – Prop) and Kieran Dunne (Cheshire – Centre) have been selected to play their part in the Divisional Festival in May.

Chairman of Selectors Mark Binns said about the selection process “Yet again we see what a massive pool of talent we have in the North. We had to make some tough decisions but I think we have selected a really good squad.”

John Blanchard and Neil Briggs lifting Matt Postlethwaite aloft v Birmingham Moseley (c) Gareth Lyons Photography for Sale FC Rugby 2019

Upon hearing the news of their selection to the England North U20’s squad, Club President James Hourihan said “We at Sale FC Rugby are immensely proud of local lads Kieran and John. They have forged a path from the junior to the senior section of the club in the past couple of years and those efforts are rightly being recognised by the selectors. Congratulations lads!”

The full squad to play at Derby RFC on Saturday 11th and Sunday 12th May are as follows:

Forwards: John Blanchard – Lancashire, Monty Weatherby – Cheshire, Adam Sunley – Durham, Matt Ashcroft – Lancashire, Connor Johnson – Lancashire, Matt Gallagher – Lancashire, Ben Walton – Durham, Tom Johnson – Northumberland, Connor James – Lancashire, Jack Granby – Lancashire, Ben Whyte – Yorkshire, Eddie Brown – Yorkshire, Ethan Clarke – Northumberland.

Backs: Ollie Penney – Yorkshire, Spencer Cope – Cheshire, Will Titherington – Cheshire, Lucas Titherington – Cheshire, Sam Nunn – Yorkshire, Sam Brooke – Yorkshire, Kieran Dunne – Cheshire, Sam Stott – Lancashire, Marcus Law – Yorkshire, Finlay Dewar – Yorkshire.